Friday, December 31, 2010

“Habits are at first cobwebs, then cables.”

        — Spanish Proverb

Thursday, December 30, 2010

“Work like you owe money to a Russian, love like you’ve never looked in the mirror, dance like a drunk badger attacking a hedge.”

        — Dolly (@TheDollSays) #

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

“Good manners are made up of petty sacrifices.”

        — Ralph Waldo Emerso

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Debt, n.

An ingenious substitute for the chain and whip of the slave driver.

        — Ambrose Bierce, The Devil’s Dictionary

Monday, December 27, 2010

“What is more important in a library than anything else - than everything else - is the fact that it exists.”

        — Archibald MacLeish

Sunday, December 26, 2010

“Then what are we fighting for?”

        — Winston Churchill in response to a suggestion of cutting arts funding to support the war effort

Saturday, December 25, 2010

“There’s nothing sadder in this world than to awake Christmas morning and not be a child.”

        — Erma Bombeck

Merry Christmas to the child in all of us.

Friday, December 24, 2010

“They say a lie gets halfway around the world before the truth gets its pants on. Why the truth is pantsless, no one mentions.”

        — Caprice Crane (@capricecrane)

Thursday, December 23, 2010

“Design without a cost target is just art class”

        — Clothing designer from Nike

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

“If it’s a new problem, perhaps it demands a new approach. If it’s an old problem, it certainly does.”

        — Seth Godin

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

“Never let your past dictate who you are, but let it be a part of who you’ll become.”

        — Nick Portokalos

Monday, December 20, 2010

“Never forget that only dead fish swim with the stream.”

        — Malcolm Muggeridge

Sunday, December 19, 2010

“You can’t plough a field by turning it over in your mind.”

        — Irish Proverb

Saturday, December 18, 2010

“The way to get things done is not to mind who gets the credit for doing them.”

        — Benjamin Jowett

Friday, December 17, 2010

“For most men life is a search for the proper manila envelope in which to get themselves filed.”

        — Clifton Fadiman

Thursday, December 16, 2010

“God has given you one face, and you make yourselves another”

        — William Shakespeare, Hamlet Act III Scene I

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

“Forgiveness does not change the past, but it does enlarge the future.”

        — Paul Boese

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

“Americans will always reach for their lawyers first.”

        — Neil Brennan, Ignite Melbourne 2010

Monday, December 13, 2010

“The price good men pay for indifference to public affairs is to be ruled by evil men.”

        — Plato

Sunday, December 12, 2010

“Critical decisions need to be made as late as possible, but before they make themselves.”

        — Mary Poppendieck, YOW! 2010

Saturday, December 11, 2010

“Habit is a cable; we weave a thread each day, and at last we cannot break it.”

        — Horace Mann

Friday, December 10, 2010

“Learning to ignore things is one of the great paths to inner peace”

        — Robert J. Sawyer

Thursday, December 9, 2010

“Assumptions are the termites of relationships.”

        — Henry Winkler

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

“I see dance being used as communication between body and soul, to express what is too deep to find for words.”

        — Ruth St. Denis

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

“Sysops people need to think of servers as cattle rather than pets…”

        — Michael Nygard, YOW! 2010

Monday, December 6, 2010

“Anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that ‘my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.’”

        — Isaac Asimov

Sunday, December 5, 2010

“Some people are like slinkies – not really good for anything, but they bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.”

Saturday, December 4, 2010

“If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up the men to gather wood, divide the work and give orders. Instead, teach them to yearn for the vast and endless sea.”

        — Antoine de Saint ExupĂ©ry

Friday, December 3, 2010

“He was jeopardising his traditional rights of freedom and independence by daring to exercise them.”

        — Joseph Heller, Catch-22

Thursday, December 2, 2010

“You never truly understand concurrency until you’ve had your second child”

        — Old Erlang saying

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

“It is the greatest of all mistakes to do nothing because you can only do a little.”

        — Sydney Smith